Copyright
1995-
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: London, England - Consular Process Tracking

Hi

I decided to start a threat to share my experience with London office consular process. I am a student who overstayed his F1 visa in the US for more than 180 days. As many of you know, AOS would be impossible - so decided to leave the country for consular process for an immigrant visa, which was through my USC father (I130 priority date recently became current).

With the help of an immigration attorney, the consular process should be much faster than AOS... 4-6 months is the projected timeline. It could be much faster.

I know a lot of people may think I am taking a risk with this route, since I have previous unlawful presence time in the US. Well, first of all... my I94 has D/s (Duration of Status) - and considering my status violation - the INS didn't find out about it... and therefore not subject to the 3/10 yrs bar.

Why am I sharing this information?... well, I have met people on this forum who would be interested to know what would happen if I leave - they think there is a high risk involved in the CP route. I feel very confident with this route, even though I have been advised by same people to not leave the country. Plus, I want to share this information for people who could end up in my position in the future.