50000 pages of
free information!
Copyright
1995-
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Thread: Permanent Resident sponsoring 21 year old son

Hello, I am a permanent resident and I would like to sponsor my 21 year old son. How can I do this? and How long can it take? Thank you.

Hello, I am a permanent resident and I would like to sponsor my 21 year old son. How can I do this? and How long can it take? Thank you.

I have similar question. In my case the son is in U.S. without documentation and is 19. He has been here since he was 3. He was honor student in H.S. and now wants to go to medical school but has few to no opportunities for college. So I will be interested in responsesw to your post.

PR should file I-130 for his/her son to start the process. Son will be in category Family 2B. That means, he will have to wait for an immigrant visa number to become available before he can adjust status in the USA or get an immigrant visa in a consulate.

Depending on the country of origin, wait is between 9 - 15 years.
    http://travel.state.gov/visa/frvi/bu...etin_3800.html

A beneficiary (son) can't adjust status (become PR without leaving the USA)if he has no legal status in the USA, entered without inspection etc.

If a petitioner (oniz, chuck) becomes US citizen, the petition can be upgraded to Family 1, where the wait is 6 -15 years (depending on country).