free information!
Copyright
1995-
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Thread: H-1/OPT/I-140 Application Questions

Hi,
    I have been an F-1 visa student for the last 5 yrs. After graduating in March, I applied for the Optional Practical Training (OPT) and I got my permit in May. A few months ago I started working for a company in L.A. and I decide to file the application for an H-1 visa. So I called the international student center of my university to get info on the procedure to be followed. The advisor told me that the max quota of H-1 visas available has been already reached; therefore my application cannot be approved until October 2005. This means that next May, when my OPT expires, I will have to quit working at least for 5 months, until I get the H-1 in October.
    I was completely unaware of the existence of this "max quota" so I called the American consulate in Italy and they told me that instead there shouldn't be any difficulty for me to extend my working permit, all I should do is file the I-140 application (petition for alien workers) through my employer.
    Now I am really confused. Is the I-140 the application for the H-1 visa or is it to obtain a different working permit? Is it true that I can't get the H-1 until October 2005? Plz suggest me what I should do. I will really appreciate any help.
    Thanks.

Hi,