50000 pages of
free information!
Copyright
1995-
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Thread: Confused. Any advice?

My fiance is a Canadian citizen who left his job in Canada to live near me. When we went through customs upon leaving Canada the agent told him to be out of the country by March 31, 2007. She wrote on his visa "B-1 out by March 31, 2007." My fiance wants to attend university here and seek employment but we are not planning on getting married for another year.

Right now my fiance is living with my family members who are willing to help in any way they can. He is not a professional nor has he completed his undergrad. I have been doing research for the past 6 months and I seem to always get conflicting information.

We spoke to one lawyer who told us that he should change his status as soon as he can to maybe an F-1 and get a work permit. She also told us that he should NOT go back to Canada by March 31st and that even if he does stay over he will be fine as long as he does not get into trouble.

We are both young college students who just want to get the sorted out. We have started planning our wedding but we need to go through religious counsel(about a yr of it) before our marriage and we still want to be together. I also think I have it pretty clear that since he is a Canadian citizen he is not part of the visa waiver program and is therefore not ineligible for COS or AOS.

Anyone have any advice?

thanks for your time.

My fiance is a Canadian citizen who left his job in Canada to live near me. When we went through customs upon leaving Canada the agent told him to be out of the country by March 31, 2007. She wrote on his visa "B-1 out by March 31, 2007." My fiance wants to attend university here and seek employment but we are not planning on getting married for another year.