Copyright
1995-
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: will a divorce cancel the sponsorship

Dear friends,
    I have a question for my friend. After a divorce, will the sponsorship be terminated? How can a sponsorship actually terminate?

Thanks!

Dear friends,
    I have a question for my friend. After a divorce, will the sponsorship be terminated? How can a sponsorship actually terminate?

Thanks!

Hello SO So

Welcome to the board

No a divorce will not terminate the Affadavit of support. Divorce is a civil matter and not an immigration matter.

If you need advice about cancelling sponsership, then you will have to provide timelines, and details about the petition in order for us to advise you.

No he will be responsible for 10 years. There is no way to terminate it. You are stuck.
    I am not a lawyer! I don't give legal advice! I just state my opinion!

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by so&so:
    Dear friends,

Thanks! </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Are you asking the question for a USC Spouse or Alien Spouse?
    I am not racist. I am not anti-immigrant. I am AGAINST CRIMINALS, FRAUDSTERS, WHO DISOBEY THE LAW, BREAK THE LAW AND PERPETRATE THE FRAUD.

You may not like what I have to say but that does not mean I am wrong.

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by davdah:
    Read the question. Sponsorship, not support.
    It can be terminated depending on what stage the applicant is in. If no GC receieved or the conditional only received then it can be terminated. The immigrant may still be able to self petition once the divorce is final though. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yes Davdah.