free information!
Copyright
1995-
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Thread: Greencard

Hi,

My wife was originally born in Spain, but has now Spanish citizenship and is living in England.

I am a US GC holder from Spain living in the States. I have already petitioned for a I-130 form to sponsor her.

Can she come to the States (only as a visitor for up to 90 days), or is she not allowed to do so?

Many thanks

She can try a visitor visa, but she might
    have slim chance cuz she's already under I-30
    petion. On the Application she will be ask about that.

Hi World Citizen,

In order to obtain a tourist visa to the US, one must show no intent to remain permanently here. Since you have already filed the I-30, I doubt she will be approved for a tourist visa (although, I'm no expert by any means). Here's more on Tourist Visas from: http://www.unitedstatesvisas.gov/visiting2.html

Applying for a Tourist Visa

Under U.S. law, applicants for visitor visas must qualify on their own for visas to visit the United States.

This is what applicants must do when they apply for visitor visas:

Complete and sign the required application forms;
    Bring evidence that their visit is temporary and that they will leave the United States after their legally authorized stay; and
    Undergo security clearance procedures
    All visa applicants, even babies in their parents' passports, must have these things:

Application Form DS-156 , completed and signed
    Current, valid passport or travel document
    Photograph. Requirements are strict for photograph size, type and quality. Please check with your nearest consulate for specifications before you get your picture taken.
    Application fees. All applicants must pay the application fee. Some applicants, according to nationality and type of visa, must also pay an issuance fee.
    Evidence of funds to cover your expenses in the United States
    Evidence of compelling social and economic ties abroad