50000 pages of
free information!
Copyright
© 1995-
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: I-130 and no inspection and what is next?

I am new to all of this (immigration process) and am looking for "what do we do next?" info.

My son is active military. USC. His wife, our daughter-in-law, is Mexican, and entered w/o inspection.
    Son was deployed to Iraq 3 weeks ago for at least one year. Daughter-in-law is in CA on miliatary base (for now) with their 2 children (both under age 3). She also does not drive. Son has asked us to help with process and will certainly do whatever we can.
    Apprently, he has filed I-130 to LA office and it was accepted. Now after reading some to these postings, it sounds like it could have been big mistake.
    I have talked to JAG on the base in regards to daughter-in-law's case. Daughter-in-law brought all paperwork to seminar held on base and hosted by LA Immigration Officer. Upon review of her paperwork, she was told not to submit it. The Immigration officer wants her to go to his office and talk to him. He is aware she is here w/o inspection. Per the JAG, if I485 and I485A, is submitted and denied, the only recourse is to file hardship.
    If hardship denied, she is basically SOL. It was descussed that possilby we should file hardship first. According to the JAG, the officer was going to check on her options. The immigration officer wants daughter-in-law to come to office and go over her case. Keep in mind, her husband is now over seas.
    After reading some of the posts, I am afraid that if she appears in the LA INS office, she will be taken into custody and immediately sent back to Mexico, for however long it takes to come back.
    Anyone else with similiar experience or advise?
    (We live on the East Coast and will be traveling to CA to assist with this. After which the plan was to bring daughter-in-law and grandchilden back to stay with us short term).