Copyright
1995-
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Time Required to get Work Permit

Hi,

I am currently in canada and planning to come to US on fiance visa K1.
    I am doing a good job in canada and hopeful that I should be able to get a fair job in US as well. For this purpose I want to hunt jobs sitting in Canada and want to go their having a job offer.
    Now worrying part is that I have heard that it takes around 90 days to get work permit if someone enters on K1 visa. Is that true. I don't have much money to support myself and my wife if I am unemployed for 3 months. Are there any workarounds so that someone can start working earlier. I am an IT professional.
    I would greatly appreciate response from people who have good knowledge and experience on the subject. Thanks in advance.

Hi,

I am currently in canada and planning to come to US on fiance visa K1.
    I am doing a good job in canada and hopeful that I should be able to get a fair job in US as well. For this purpose I want to hunt jobs sitting in Canada and want to go their having a job offer.
    Now worrying part is that I have heard that it takes around 90 days to get work permit if someone enters on K1 visa. Is that true. I don't have much money to support myself and my wife if I am unemployed for 3 months. Are there any workarounds so that someone can start working earlier. I am an IT professional.
    I would greatly appreciate response from people who have good knowledge and experience on the subject. Thanks in advance.

Hi Shane,
    unfortunately it usually takes more than 90 days. After you enter the US, and after you get married, you file for adjustment of status and employment authorisation document. That alone takes 30 - 90 days for most people. After filling, you should receive EAD in 90 days.