50000 pages of
free information!
Copyright
1995-
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What options do I have? Please help!

I came to US in 2001 on a F-1 visa. I transfered from the university I was granted visa to a another university after completing about 3 semesters. I didn't let the INS know about this. I was under the impression the new university would do this. I wasn't granted a new I-20 as I wasn't in the SEVIS system. Anyways, my visa ran out in 2006 and I have now overstayed for about 2 years. I finished my master's this May with couple of academic awards and a scholarship from my university. I also have received numerous sports awards and made it to US national cricket team. I couldn't represent the team because of my status. I have letter from US national cricket team coach to prove this.
    Few weeks ago, due to a traffic violation, I was pulled over and after checking my status I was handed over to the ICE by local police. I was released on a $5000 bond. Right now am waiting for a NTA before an immigration judge.
    Can anyone tell me what my options are? I have scheduled a meeting with a lawyer for this Thursday.
    After doing some research online, I found out that Atlanta's immigration judges are one of the toughest around the nation. That scares the hell out of me.