free information!
Copyright
1995-
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Page 1 of 278 1231151101 ... LastLast

Thread: Illegal Mexican Exploitation

Hey all. I am a senior college student. I am writing my thesis on the exploitation that illegal mexican workers experience because of their lack of rights. I would appreciate if anyone knows of any books or other sources that address this topic. I have a lot of stuff, but I am looking for a primary source, like a personal account, to help focus my paper. Thank you.

Also, I am going to try to anonymously interview some illegal workers for their stories. I feel like this may be a diffucult thing to do, so I would appreciate any help in that area. I live in the Charlotte are if that helps at all.

Thanks again.

CollegeStudent,

I know of an instance where an owner of a particular company used a couple of different payroll companies to pay the wages (and probably still does).

After the guys worked forty hours, instead of paying the overtime, he'd just place them onto the account of the other payroll company, back to the base rate of pay. Nothing they could do about it and would've been afraid to say anything.

An Albq. NM weekend paper has an opinion article titled "Ask A Mexican" where people can 3-mail with questions at garellano@ocweekly.com

Ask a Mexican! online glossary at www.alibi.com
    It might behoove you to speak with churches that have a Spanish congregation. You could explain your situation and they'd probably know which individuals might be more preferable in aiding you. Try several churches and remember your best bet are the ones in the predominant Hispanic areas. If your Anglo, you might want to take an Hispanic friend since you would be consider an outsider. And you'd never want anyone to think your associated with La Migra.

I think people would be open and responsive if you first speak with those they know and trust.