50000 pages of
free information!
Copyright
1995-
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Child birth abroad to one Citizen Parent.

Hi, all,

I have a question and I need little help. The situation is like this. I am US citizen since May 2006. My wife's I-130 is approved. We have one month old Child who is US citizen at birth because I am US citizen and I have been residing here in US since last 8 years. The Mumbai Embassy's web site has everything you need but not clear about it. I know the forms and procedure.

The question is, Do I have to go there in person or my wife, who is natural parent of the child, can register his birth without me. Is there anything or any document that I have to sign so that she can register his birth and apply for passport.
    Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks a bunch.

Chris

Hi, all,

I have a question and I need little help. The situation is like this. I am US citizen since May 2006. My wife's I-130 is approved. We have one month old Child who is US citizen at birth because I am US citizen and I have been residing here in US since last 8 years. The Mumbai Embassy's web site has everything you need but not clear about it. I know the forms and procedure.

The question is, Do I have to go there in person or my wife, who is natural parent of the child, can register his birth without me. Is there anything or any document that I have to sign so that she can register his birth and apply for passport.
    Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks a bunch.

Chris

Why didn't the hospital register the baby? if the hospital register the baby already, then you don't need two parent to go and pick the birth certificate up, But be sure to bring and ID.