free information!
Copyright
1995-
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Getting married to my girlfriend who is a green card holder here in us

Hi everybody. Hope you are enjoying this great summer. I have a question. I am a student on F-1 visa and getting married to my girlfriend this summer. She holds a green card. We have been in love for three years and we are not going to wait any longer. Would I have to leave the country? and if not will I be able to work while awaiting for adjustment? What documents will we need to file?
    Any responses will be greatly appreciated.
    Thank you very much

Hi everybody. Hope you are enjoying this great summer. I have a question. I am a student on F-1 visa and getting married to my girlfriend this summer. She holds a green card. We have been in love for three years and we are not going to wait any longer. Would I have to leave the country? and if not will I be able to work while awaiting for adjustment? What documents will we need to file?
    Any responses will be greatly appreciated.
    Thank you very much

I am not a lawyer nor do I claim to be one so please double-check any information given by me, or anyone else for that matter, with a certified (immigration)lawyer before you take any further steps.

yes congrat ! look for papers work on line and file the necessary forms. when that is done, you will be in line for work permit.. not sure which one comes first . But I guess you can file for work permit on F-1 after 9months as well

ok, here you go.

You do not need to leave the country. You will have to maintain your F-1 status until you apply for adjustment of status.

You can choose between two options: