free information!
Copyright
1995-
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Thread: Illegal in the US for 30 years now and filing I-687

Hey all you good people out there!

I am 48 years old. My wife (she's 47) and we have been living illegally in the US since our student visas expired in 1985. (Her visa actually expired a month later than mine.)

We came to the US in 1976 to study when we were both 18 years old. I got my bachelor's and my master's degrees. My wife got her bachelor's and master's too. I was supposed to continue on with my doctorate but I dropped out and started working illegally in 1982. She started working illegally in 1982 when she got her master's.

We got married in 1982 and we don't have any kids.

We want to become legal again. We both filed for the I-687 under the Newman (LULAC) agreement in June 2004. We got our pictures and fingerprints taken a month later but we haven't heard anything yet.

I have two questions for all your good people out there:

(1) Is there any hope that we could become legal again? We've been here for almost 30 years now.

(2) What is the lead time in getting the I-687 processed? I don't see any mention of the I-687 processing times on the CIS website.

Thank you very much in advance for everything.

Andras

yes you havegood chances... if you can prove that you are here as you said. there is a list of evidence if you have one of them you will be approved .
    You are supposed to file I130 under 245i time line .. if you have done so there is a good chance you will be approved.
    Its a discussion, not a legal advise..

Yes i agree with Mohan. When someone is living here for more than 10 years and paying taxes and without any legal trouble, you may apply for green card. Please get a good a reputed lawyer.

"When someone is living here for more than 10 years and paying taxes and without any legal trouble, you may apply for green card"<---- is that true? because i dont think it is