50000 pages of
free information!
Copyright
1995-
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Thread: I-130

This is my first time to post here. I need help from all of you.
    My father who is a permanent resident has filed I-130 petition in December 1998 for my two younger sisters from the Philippines who are over 21 and single.
    He received a notice of receipt on December 17, 1998. On that receipt, it indicated that processing will take up to 120 days. Subsequent follow up indicated that it will take up to 990 days. It is nearing its 6th year now and we still have not received any advise, information of approval or just a status of what is going on with the application.
    Here are my questions:
    1. have any of you experienced this long wait without hearing from immigration?
    2. will it help if we get an immigration lawyer to help us find out what is going on (we called the BCIS National Customer Service but we could never get to talk to a live person)
    3. what is a priority date? and when do you get this?
    Any feedback is greatly appreciated. Thank you very much for taking time to respond to my post.

This is my first time to post here. I need help from all of you.
    My father who is a permanent resident has filed I-130 petition in December 1998 for my two younger sisters from the Philippines who are over 21 and single.
    He received a notice of receipt on December 17, 1998. On that receipt, it indicated that processing will take up to 120 days. Subsequent follow up indicated that it will take up to 990 days. It is nearing its 6th year now and we still have not received any advise, information of approval or just a status of what is going on with the application.
    Here are my questions:
    1. have any of you experienced this long wait without hearing from immigration?