publisher - over
50000 pages of
free information!
Copyright
1995-2014
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Thread: How to renew the driver license while the immigration status is pending.

I live in Arizona. I came here as F-1 visa. I graduated and got married. I applied for a green card 2 months ago. I wonder how I can renew my driver license while my green card application is pending at USCIS. I went to MVD to renew the driver license and they told me to go to change the last name at Social Security. When I went to Social Security, they told me they cannot change my last name and do anything until I have a green card. I now have only the receipt of forms from USCIS. I have biometrics taken a month ago. I checked the status online and it is said that my case is in process. My questions are:
    1. Do you have any idea how I can renew the driver license?
    2. How long will it take to get a temporary card (EAD) from USCIS?
    3. Should I go to the local USCIS office to ask for a temporary card or help?
    Thank you so much.

I live in Arizona. I came here as F-1 visa. I graduated and got married. I applied for a green card 2 months ago. I wonder how I can renew my driver license while my green card application is pending at USCIS. I went to MVD to renew the driver license and they told me to go to change the last name at Social Security. When I went to Social Security, they told me they cannot change my last name and do anything until I have a green card. I now have only the receipt of forms from USCIS. I have biometrics taken a month ago. I checked the status online and it is said that my case is in process. My questions are:
    Thank you so much.

Hi Redbullet and welcome to ILW

I had similar problem to you where DMV would not accept me getting a license unless I showed them my change of name from Immigration either. Even though SS in my State did accept change of name with marriage certificate, DMV would not.