publisher - over
50000 pages of
free information!
Copyright
1995-
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Thread: can i change from F-1 to M-1????

Hello, can some one help me with this question!?
    I am now a student under valid F-1 visa. I would like to go to a school that offers I-20 and M-1 visa, not F-1 visa. Can I transfer to this school and change my status from F-1 to M-1 or must I travel outside of the US and get a M-1 visa? The new school has already accepted me and will give me a new I-20 as well.
    Please help!

Hello, can some one help me with this question!?
    I am now a student under valid F-1 visa. I would like to go to a school that offers I-20 and M-1 visa, not F-1 visa. Can I transfer to this school and change my status from F-1 to M-1 or must I travel outside of the US and get a M-1 visa? The new school has already accepted me and will give me a new I-20 as well.
    Please help!

yes, you can simply transfer from F-1 to M-1 visa status. I am 90% sure you don't need to travel outside to get the M-1. This transfer should be pretty simple.

But now I have a question myself: the person with F-1 visa can stay for an extra year after the completion of school in order to find a job. That's not the case for M-1. (you would have to leave in 30 days, I think)
    Now, I am a F-1 student, and upon completion of my study, I want to study in a half-year program (M-1). If I change my status to M-1, I will only have 30 days of stay. Is there anyway I can stay here for the full 1 year from the F-1, while going to the school with M-1? The reason for this is because I desperatly wanting to get a job in US, just for gaining more experience.
    Thanks!

Hi Bee****u