50000 pages of
free information!
Copyright
1995-
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Thread: Am I eligible for Citizenship?

I am a permanent resident via marriage to a US Citizen. I am eligible to apply for citizenship. But something in the past is stopping me from applying. About 9 years ago, I pleaded no contest to a petty theft infraction at the advice of my attorney, for shoplifting. I paid $50 fine and that was it. I was originally charged with a felony.

I wasn't in trouble with the law before and since then. INS asked me about this at my GC interview and I provided court documents and explained. They issued me a GC. I hear that INS is more strict when it comes to applications for naturalization. I read on the web also that some people who were here for a long time were put in deportation proceedings for stealing $25 worth goods. Obviously I don't want to apply for citizenship if INS might put me deportation proceedings. I also read the following article recently, whcih sounds relevant to me.

http://www.visalaw.com/02aug3/10aug302.html

Any danger of being deported if I were to apply for citizenship? Thanks.

I am a permanent resident via marriage to a US Citizen. I am eligible to apply for citizenship. But something in the past is stopping me from applying. About 9 years ago, I pleaded no contest to a petty theft infraction at the advice of my attorney, for shoplifting. I paid $50 fine and that was it. I was originally charged with a felony.