free information!
Copyright
1995-
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: marriage to an older us citizen

i am an international student. a couple of months before i even knew i was coming to study in the us. i met this guy on the internet. We began chatting and talking on the phone everyday. He turned out to be much more (about 50 years>) older than i was. When i arrived in the US, we met and we've talked to each other for everyday for the past (almost)year. i go to school in another state but do go to see him quite often and live with him during the summer. Basically we feel very comfortable with each other and are also great friends. He needs someone and i need a family. I am really tired with all the immigration and INS complications concerning working and instate tuition. I don't like the college i'm attending and i want to enroll at another school. I have a very high GPA, but I can't get a scholarship, pay instate fees nor work as an international student. If we get married, will the INS accept our marriage and grant me a green card taking into consideration our great age differences? Or should we remain married for a year before applying to show that we are serious. What can I do or should I do?
    Will I have to change my name? I really don't feel confident telling my parents yet.
    Does the INS do rigid house checks on newly married american-foreigner couples who try to apply for a green card? What if we don't live together all year? What are the other requirements?
    Can they deny you a green card even though you are married?
    Can the INS deport you for that?

Please help. I appreciate your advise. thanks