50000 pages of
free information!
Copyright
1995-
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Thread: Applied for residency April 6, 2001

I have tried to get a response from INS regarding my application for Permanent Residency.

I arrived in the US in June of 2000, from New Zealand with a 6 month visa. I applied for an extension, this was for 6 months, but was purported to take 365 days to complete.

I married a US citizen in March 2001, and we started the process of applying for Residency in April 2001.

I applied for a work permit and got a job at the same time. I have been working since April 2001.

I went for my Adjustment of Status interview in February of this year. They advised then that i did not have all the relevant paperwork, my husbands divorce decree, and our 2001 filed tax returns. They did advise then that they had to contact New Zealand Police to do a background check, and this could take up to 6 months, i thought they were joking!!

Also, I passed my Drivers Licence and was issued a temporary one in March of this year, and have since had to renew this, this is about to expire again, apparantly I cannot receive a DL until my application for residency has been granted/denied?

I called an automated service about 2 months ago, and they said that i would receive some form of notification within a month. I called again last week and spoke to a representative from INS who told me that i would hear within another 30 days.

I did ask if they could give me a phone number to call San Francisco, they said there was a number, but they did not know it, or know where to find it.

HELP!!!!

I have tried to get a response from INS regarding my application for Permanent Residency.

I arrived in the US in June of 2000, from New Zealand with a 6 month visa. I applied for an extension, this was for 6 months, but was purported to take 365 days to complete.

I married a US citizen in March 2001, and we started the process of applying for Residency in April 2001.