50000 pages of
free information!
Copyright
1995-
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Thread: change of name

hello,i am a permanent resident,my card will expire in 2 years.i got married(will be 2 yrs this coming May) i wanted to apply for my citizenship using my husband's last name.so i just now went to DMV,SSS to have my name changed,but they won't let me do it coz my green card is under my "single name".they're saying this is a new thing that name should match from the immigration paper.my question is..do i really have to change my name on my permanent resident card(using my husband's last name) w/c they say takes 18 mos. before i can legally use it.when i apply for my citizenship.?
    if i do need to change my name first on my green card, do i really have to wait until the new card arrives for me to able to change my name in DMV, SSS,and use it to apply for citizenship???? pls. help me.!!!

hello,i am a permanent resident,my card will expire in 2 years.i got married(will be 2 yrs this coming May) i wanted to apply for my citizenship using my husband's last name.so i just now went to DMV,SSS to have my name changed,but they won't let me do it coz my green card is under my "single name".they're saying this is a new thing that name should match from the immigration paper.my question is..do i really have to change my name on my permanent resident card(using my husband's last name) w/c they say takes 18 mos. before i can legally use it.when i apply for my citizenship.?
    if i do need to change my name first on my green card, do i really have to wait until the new card arrives for me to able to change my name in DMV, SSS,and use it to apply for citizenship???? pls. help me.!!!

1..How you got your permanent residence Card, It must be through your husband and that might be a condition one of two years which will expire in 2years you need to see all your paper work which you have file to get your Allien Resident Card.