50000 pages of
free information!
Copyright
1995-
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My interview is coming up! Getting nervious.

Hello everyone,

Is it true that if a person who won a green card lottery and overstayed, but was present in the US on December 20, 2000 will have no problem of receiving a green card?

In December 2000 I was still a student here in US.

My interview for a green card is coming up. I will have to go home for it because I overstayed. Many people are skeptical that I won't have any problems. But in my case I was a student in US for 10 years. My I-94 has a D/D on it. Never once I changed my status to the working or a tourist visa.

Yes I overstayed, but whould my case be deferent because I was a full time student here all these years?

On the day of my interview would it help to have all my school/college transcripts, forms, old passports as a proof?

Oops, I meant D/S on my I-94.

What do you mean by overstay? You said you were going to school all these years, does that include present time with a valid I-20? If yes, you are still in status.

Please explain your situation adding some details.

Lucy,

By overstay I mean that my i-94 has expired, but I'm still here in US.

I've graduated in 2001. I was going to continue my education to get the MFA degree. Unfortunately, I've decided it a little bit too late. I should of apply to the other school almost right away then my I-20 whould of been still valid.

I got accepted to one school, but when they found out that I'm out of status they told me to go home, get a new visa, and then come back. My I-20 wasn't valid any longer. They can issue a new one only when I get a new visa.

Anyway, I was getting ready to go home knowing that I might never come back when I won a green card lottery. I got a lawyer who helped me to fill out all the forms and send it in. Now I have to wait till the mid-March for my interview which is going to be in my home country.