50000 pages of
free information!
Copyright
1995-
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Thread: Immigration ti US with minor criminal record

I am a U.K citizen with an American Wife, I have been married to my wife for nearly three years (we were married in the U.K). We also have a daughter (7 months old) who was born in the U.S. My problem is that when I was young I was a bit of a tearaway and have a criminal record, all minor (misdemeanours) and all more than ten years ago. But, on my first visits to the U.S over 5 years ago, as I was going there on business for my company I did not want to get turned away on arrival, so I did not fill out my visa waiver form as I should have done. I would like to know now what chance I have of adjusting my status to be able to stay in the States if I wish. I am in no hurry to do this but with the changes in the rules that are happening at the moment I may be forced into this.
    I do not work in the States (I am an engineer and work overseas)but I own a house there, I pay my taxes on the property, have never overstayed my 90 day visa waiver even though I have been in and out of the States many times over the last 5 years and have never been in any trouble of any kind in the States (or anywhere else for that matter for 10 years).
    I am sure my Wife would move anywhere with me if I was refused a visa but I know she likes living where she is and I would not like to be moved forcibly.
    Can anybody advise me on a course of action??

It all depends on the nature of the crimes and at what age.
    - Some will be forgiven if it was before 18. Others can not be forgiven by law like drug convictions.
    - More than 2 legal convictions can establish a good moral character issue.
    - There is no statute of limitation in U.S. immigration law for aliens so the 10 yrs. or 20 or 50 don't really matter.
    - When you entered the U.S. with a VW while married to a U.S. citizen, that can be a big problem next time around.