50000 pages of
free information!
Copyright
1995-
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

Thread: Adjustment of Status

I would really appreciate getting some help. I came here in 1988 on a visitors visa, i overstayed. My brother, who is USC, filed application for me in April 2001. I received a receipt from INS in the end of April 2001 saying that I should hear from them within 180-940 days.

I don't want to be a drag on society, I have two children, one born in my country and the other born here. I pay for my own medical insurance through HIP (it is very expensive), because I am diabetic and have glaucoma. I have never been on welfare and have no intentions of going on it - ever.

I have been filing my taxes for 10 years.

My question here is, should I call the number given on the receipt from INS? Or should I just wait it out?

Is it going to take 10-15 years for me to get GC?
    I would appreciate hearing from Mohan, he or her, seems knowledgeable in the law.

I would really appreciate getting some help. I came here in 1988 on a visitors visa, i overstayed. My brother, who is USC, filed application for me in April 2001. I received a receipt from INS in the end of April 2001 saying that I should hear from them within 180-940 days.

I don't want to be a drag on society, I have two children, one born in my country and the other born here. I pay for my own medical insurance through HIP (it is very expensive), because I am diabetic and have glaucoma. I have never been on welfare and have no intentions of going on it - ever.

I have been filing my taxes for 10 years.

My question here is, should I call the number given on the receipt from INS? Or should I just wait it out?

Is it going to take 10-15 years for me to get GC?
    I would appreciate hearing from Mohan, he or her, seems knowledgeable in the law.

You came on visitor in 1988 and never leave, you will have bar imposed on you to adjust your status.