Lawyers???

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lawyers???

With people with knowledge please help! I have contacted a few lawyers to see how much they charge. Their number is a little higher than I would like to spend, so I am wondering if it is worth it. I am wanting to file for the Fiance Visa. Any comment can help, so please help!
    KC

With people with knowledge please help! I have contacted a few lawyers to see how much they charge. Their number is a little higher than I would like to spend, so I am wondering if it is worth it. I am wanting to file for the Fiance Visa. Any comment can help, so please help!
    KC

Comment

It depends on where you are in the U.S. I am an attorney, so my views may be biased. Of course, you can always file the papers yourself. Forgive me for the analogy about how to decide when you need a lawyer...It's like going to a doctor. If one has a mild headache, it's probably worth just taking some asprin and not visiting the doctor. If on the other hand, one is in extreme pain and asprin is unlikely to help, then one is better of going to the doctor for their specialized expertise. To do it yourself would take investment of time on your part and if you feel it's not worth spending that amount of time then you should hire an attorney. The advantage of hiring an attorney is that they can foresee and predict any problems that may arise as things progress. I am not sure if this was of any help.

Comment

My issue is actually the money. I am currently on my final year in school, and the fees the lawyers are asking for is a lot more than I can afford. With your analogy about headaches, I am not a fan of medicine, but when a doctor tells me to do something I do. More or less what I am saying is this you are my doctor, and if you say take the medicine, I will find a way to pay for the medicine. I just want to make sure it isn't something that I can't take care of myself. Thanks again for your reply.
        KC

Comment