Little help needed pls. Can you

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Little help needed pls. Can you

be denied entrance into the U.S. with a valid government identification card such as a drivers license?? What can you do if are denied???

be denied entrance into the U.S. with a valid government identification card such as a drivers license?? What can you do if are denied???

Comment

Comment

Summer 2002, a fun story...
        ...well, now that I look back on it.

I am a teacher. Occasionally, in the summer, I do odd jobs to make a little extra money. My hobby being computers, I did a couple of jobs that summer installing home networks.

August, before heading back off to school, I decided to drive from Boston to Rochester, Minnesota to visit family. Being single (I had only just begun dating my current wife) I decided to be adventurous, and planned a route back home that would take me into Canada, north of lake superior, up around Hudson Bay, then drop back down into the states through Vermont. Being a lifelong resident of the northern border states, I had grown quite accustomed to crossing the border without any hassles.

The trip was absolutely breathtaking. The border agent wished me well as I crossed into Canada, and even offered some suggestions for out of the way, not-so-touristy attractions. I spent about two and a half weeks traveling to different towns, wilderness preserves, settlements, and was only disappointed when the last 50 miles of my journey through Quebec, heading toward Vermont, was cornfields! (Seen plenty enough corn in the US - waaay too much corn)

As I pull up to the border crossing, not far outside Montreal, I was impressed by the line of traffic, waiting to get through. Three hours later, I finally see the US Border agent, and hand him my Massachusetts drivers license when he asks for my ID.