False claim to US citizenship

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• False claim to US citizenship

In 1993 I was on F-1 visa attending CSU (California State University) campus A then dropped out. The same year (1993) I applied at campus B of the CSU as a citizen and was admitted. After one year I dropped out. Now I am a permanent resident and attending community college. I expect to transfer to CSU campus C soon. Would the CSU campuses share records? Would campus C know that I was in campus B if I don’t report it on the application?

In 1993 I was on F-1 visa attending CSU (California State University) campus A then dropped out. The same year (1993) I applied at campus B of the CSU as a citizen and was admitted. After one year I dropped out. Now I am a permanent resident and attending community college. I expect to transfer to CSU campus C soon. Would the CSU campuses share records? Would campus C know that I was in campus B if I don’t report it on the application?

Comment

Quite honestly, in this case, what California State University knows might cause you REAL TROUBLE...and not only with the university.

Do you know the consequences of a false claim to U.S. citizenship?

If not, you may want to find out.

When you applied for your permanent residency, did you lie when asked if you had ever made a claim to U.S. citizenship?

Comment

lying is not good , it is never good . Why would you say ,you were a citizen ?

Comment

Thank you for the answer. Now I am aware of the consequences if it was done after 1996 but in my case it was in 1993 and not to get benefits under INA. doesn't this make a difference?

And no at the time I didn't know of the consequences.

I don't recall being asked about this during the adjustment of status. I know there is a question on the N-400 though...

So, what do you experts suggest I do?

Thanks

Comment