Advice on Driving to Mexico & border living

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice on Driving to Mexico & border living

Hi friends. If anybody has been following my situation, you'll know that my husband is illegal from Mexico. He entered without inspection back in '98, we were married in '02, our I-130 was approved this April and I had to file an I-824, which is still pending and, according to processing times, will be pending for quite some time. Once the I-824 goes through and he eventually gets his interview, he'll be denied due to the ten-year bar and I'll have to file the I-601. I recently contacted the consulate in Ciudad Juarez and they informed me that since the I-130 hasn't arrived there, we are still eligible to get the K-3 and I can file the I-601 when the K-3 gets denied. I graduated college this May, so there's nothing left to really hold us here. We are eager to get the process going, so we've decided to try the K-3 route. We have given notice in our jobs and are starting to make arrangements to go to Mexico. Since I will have to file the I-601, I need to maintain a residence in the United States. For this reason, we've decided to move to the border. I plan to work in a US border town and rent a room. My husband will be living right on the other side so I can go see him whenever I want.

We are going to go to Ciudad Juarez. We currently live in northern California (north of Sacramento). We want to take the quickest freeway route to El Paso then cross there. We are weary of "checkpoints," however. It would be too ironic if my husband got deported on his way home. We want to avoid any areas where there might be border patrol agents. We would be taking the I-5 to San Diego then going from there to El Paso. Anyone drivent these routes? The furthest I've ever been is LA.

Also, does anyone have any experience or advice in regards to border living.
    Have a nice day