Taxes and sponsorship

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Taxes and sponsorship

My husband wants to sponsor me for green card. He is US Citizen, self-employed and has no tax returns. What can we do?
    Someone out there please give us a hint. Thanks!

If your husband has been working but not filing taxes, he's got big troubles with the IRS. His (and your) best bet is to find a good tax attorney before you even try to deal with immigration. [My opinion only--I'm not a lawyer.]

Comment

he needs to start filing all his taxes including back taxes IMMEDIATELY. Later, he can sponsor you.

You need to know that you cannot get any benefit from the govt if u dont file taxes, esp if you have been receiving any form of income.

Comment

Thanks Aliba & John Doe!
        Does my husband have to pay a penalty for not filing taxes. He has his business for 5 years and did not file at all.
        Is there any other route we can go? My parents are also here and they have a greencard. Can they sponsor me too?
        Can I still file a marriage based adjustment of status? I am here 18 years on a visa overstay and got a DUI in Oct. 2004. I lost my driver license and can not get a temporary because I have no SS#. Any suggestions on that? Please help, Iam in a big mess. Thanks!

Comment

you will have a lot ahead of you to get everything sorted out.
          consult an experienced tax-laywer like AliBA suggested. get the tax issue sorted out and then file for marriage based AOS. having your parents sponsor you doesn't make sense. with them only having a green card and you (at least I assume you are) being aged out (over age) it would take forever for you to get a green card and you might even have to leave the country which in turn would trigger the 10-year bar due to overstay.
          As to the consequences of your DUI I would suggest you consult an experienced immigration attorney.

Comment

Thanks Silviamka,