Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• off topic - for lawyers

would anyone know if a lawyer who graduated outside of the US and has passed the bar (of that country where she graduated from) can pursue law practice in the US, and if there are other requirements? thank you so much.

would anyone know if a lawyer who graduated outside of the US and has passed the bar (of that country where she graduated from) can pursue law practice in the US, and if there are other requirements? thank you so much.

Comment

As far as I know (I'm not a lawyer) lawyers in the U.S. must be admitted to the bar in the state(s) in which they practice. This most likely means taking and passing the state's test, which can be tough. Some states have reciprocity--if you pass in one state, another state will accept you to practice there as well.
      Don't know if they have such an arrangement with other countries. Best thing to do is check with the state you want to move to as to their requirements.

There's been some debate as to whether one needs to pass the state bar if one practices in federal courts. I don't know what is required to appear in federal courts.

Comment

I am an attorney, and each state does vary greatly in its own requirements. Most states allow reciprocity with other states after a certain number of years of practice, some do not. I would expect that an out of country education could be permitted to satisfy the education requirement, but I would doubt that the Bar Exam could be waived. I would Google the State Bar of whatever state you are looking at. Or you can look at BarBri's site which provides state by state requirements as well as links.

Comment