I-687 Second Interview

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I-687 Second Interview

i applied for status as a temporary resident I-687 under the LULAC (Newman) settlement in august 2004. i had my interview in september 2005. the immigration lady just went over my application and took a look at my W2's from over the years. i heard nothing from CIS until today.

i just received a letter asking me to schedule an appointment for a SECOND interview at the cis district office. i also noticed that i would be meeting with the same lady again as her name was on the letter. the letter also told me to get my fingerprints done again BEFORE scheduling the second interview. the letter said to bring an unexpired passport to the interview. i would like to know what i would be asked in the SECOND interview.

i came to the US on a student visa in 1976. i worked without INS permission while i was a student from 1978 to 1982. i was working fulltime as a waiter in an indian restaurant when i should have been studying fulltime. i left for two weeks to india in may 1983 and came back to the US on a student visa.

when i applied for amnesty in 1987, i was told that i was not eligible because i had left the US for the two weeks in may 1983 and had come back on a student visa. (my I-94 was valid for until 1988.) however, under the LULAC (Newman) settlement, i am now eligible to apply for temporary residency.

what would i be asked during the SECOND interview?

thank you in advance for your help.

i applied for status as a temporary resident I-687 under the LULAC (Newman) settlement in august 2004. i had my interview in september 2005. the immigration lady just went over my application and took a look at my W2's from over the years. i heard nothing from CIS until today.