fiancee is overseas

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• fiancee is overseas

I am a permanent resident and have been so for over one year now. I had a girlfreind back home but because of certain problems we could not get married and come here together. These problems have now been resolved and I would like her to come over so we can get married.

Can I petition INS for this, would a lawyer help and what other options do I have ?

I am a permanent resident and have been so for over one year now. I had a girlfreind back home but because of certain problems we could not get married and come here together. These problems have now been resolved and I would like her to come over so we can get married.

Can I petition INS for this, would a lawyer help and what other options do I have ?

Comment

Yes. You can file a K-1 Fiance visa for her. When she arrives, you must get married within 90 days.

It never hurts to see a lawyer (except the pocket book), but if there are no problems with your case, you may not need one.

See http://k1.exit.com

Congratulations and good luck

Comment

Actually I don't think you can use the K visa. It's for US citizen's fiancees only. As a permanent resident, your spouse has to maintain her own legal status (e.g. H1, F1) while waiting for the green card petition.

Comment

From the INS website it appears like only citizens can petition. Which leaves me wondering if a lawyer would be of any use or do I go chance the F1 route.

Comment

Frank,
            Don't get married. Trust me. After they get married, women get fat and cut their hair. Just trying to help.

Comment

Your fiancee will likely face difficulty qualifying for a student visa because she will have to convince the embassy that she will return to her country after her studies - not realistic if she is married to an LPR.

Comment