publisher - over
50000 pages of
free information!
Copyright
© 1995-
ILW.COM,
American
Immigration LLC.

• Article: Siskind for AILA Board of Governors Campaign Statement by Greg Siskind

Siskind for AILA Board of Governors Campaign Statement

by Greg Siskind

My name is Greg Siskind and I am a candidate for your Board of Governors. I am running for a second term on the BOG. Many of you know me from the blog I have been writing regularly on this site for the last seven years. Some of you may not know me very well, if at all. So I appreciate the opportunity to introduce myself.

I have been a member of AILA since I was in my early 20s and have now been in the organization for half my life. I entered the organization just after massive change in immigration law occurred due to 1990ís IMMACT legislation. And we are likely facing such change again in 2013. I believe my role as an outspoken pro-immigration advocate, an author of several books and hundreds of articles on immigration law, and an active participant in AILA through my service on numerous AILA committees, speaking at dozens of AILA conferences and my participation on the AILA Board of Governors for the last three years makes me a strong candidate worthy to serve the membership during this likely period of change.

When I ran three years ago, we were an organization facing an economic crisis unlike any other most of us has ever faced in our practice. Our organization was facing the challenge of retaining members when many were questioning whether they could afford their dues. 2010 was the only year I can remember where AILA membership actually declined over the course of the year. I wanted to play a role in reversing our membersí fortunes and help them better succeed as business owners and make it clear to those on the fence that AILA membership is a critical part of their budget.